Spic and Span

June 10, 2012

 

Before Ilya was moved over to the Spring Cove Marina so that I could have the mast lowered and have her placed on the trailer, I had assumed that they would lower the mast on the crutch so I could go in the cabin and clean things up before the really cold weather.  However, (as I may have mentioned in a previous blog) that didn’t happen.  So, for the entire winter, I could only head to the West Basin Marina storage area and check out the boat on the outside, and never venture inside, or do much cleaning.  Well, it was finally time.

 

One day, I showed up at the boat with a variety of cleaning supplies, and a desire to get everything in shape.  Unfortunately, all the elbow grease I could muster didn’t make much of a dent in the black stains in the cockpit and on the deck.  I did manage to get the cabin in much better shape and better organized, and had already drained the bilge of a lot of nasty, black water and other stuff I prefer not to mention.  Note to self:  check out the bilge at least monthly!

 

What to do about the dirt and stains that simply wouldn’t go away?  I did what I tend to always do, which is to check out the various forums such as Macgregorsailors or Macgregorowners or Sailnet.  There, I discovered two products that might make a difference: Softscrub with bleach (which I think the previous owner had used) and those Mr. Clean Magic Erasers.  Armed with these two items, in addition to a stiffer brush for the deck areas, and I returned to the boat.  It’s amazing the results you can have when you have the proper tools.  I started with the magic eraser and was amazed how stains I thought were ingrained in the fiberglass just went away.  And for the flatter deck areas and non-skid, the Softscrub with bleach and that stiffer brush took everything away.  I was almost giddy, and scrubbed the boat carefully enough that it gleamed.  When I finally stood up and decided I was done, I couldn’t even remember how bad the boat had looked beforehand.  In fact, I wish I had taken a picture so I could compare them, since the difference seemed so dramatic.

 

There’s something to be said about having a clean and organized boat when you go sailing. 

 

Leave a Reply

