Captain Reef

July 26, 2015

Reef early and often. Now, where did I hear that? More importantly, why didn’t I listen to it before going out today? Actually, the sail with both my wife and me started out pretty nicely, and we took a single tack pretty much into the bay from the river. Even when the wind picked up, we stayed calm, though if I had had the main reefed, it would have certainly been a smoother sail. It also made for a few tense moments when we needed about 2 more hands to try to control the lines. My wife was absolutely a trooper and remained a lot more calm than I had expected she might be. Though when she wondered out loud how I could possibly do all this sailing stuff by myself, I realized that might make her even less comfortable with my usual singlehanding. And that would have been a dilemma.

Our fun sailing continued until I thought: “Maybe we should try to sail under the (Thomas Johnson) bridge.” Let’s just say that didn’t work out as planned. We ran into the beasts of power boats who just insisted on going faster rather than slower near us, and I absolutely know now not to try to head over to Solomons for ice cream. It was a nice idea, but it just wasn’t gonna happen.

But maybe if Captain Reef gets back, we can have a few more nice sailing days together….

Leave a Reply

