Nothing to Prove

June 30, 2017

The general consensus was that the wind was too high to head out on Friday.  And when I finally decided I should stop assuming it was too high, I headed to the marina, and saw very few boats in the river or bay, and an awful lot of action with the windvanes of the other sailboats.  In short, it really was too much wind for me.

As I was taking Hercules’ fuel tank to refill it, I noticed a sailboat owner cleaning his boat. This seemed like a good idea, so I texted my wife telling her I would be doing a little cleaning, then headed to fill the tank.

Now when I returned, the wind had died down considerably, so I thought “Okay.  Time to stop being a wimp and head out.”  After sending my wife a text, I did just that.

Raising the sail within the west basin wasn’t difficult, and I thought for a moment of shaking out the reef right then, which would have been an incredibly boneheaded move — glad I didn’t do it.  For when I got onto the river, the wind and current were much, much stronger.  In fact, strong enough that I took down the main pretty quickly so I could head in.  Wimped out again.

Then, I saw another sailboat flying just his jib, and thought that would be a good idea.  So I deployed the Genoa as a little more than a storm jib and found that I could make slow progress toward the bay, as the other boat was doing.  But you know — it was just too much work, and I lower the Genoa and motored back into the slip.

Sailing does require work, and I’m quite happy with that.  In fact, I am surprised by the amount of work that goes into sailing, and only realize it when somebody else points it out to me.  I just enjoy it even though it does involve work.

But on Friday, the work just wasn’t worth it to me.  So no, I didn’t actually wimp out.

Engine                                     30 minutes

Sails                                        Main reefed; Genoa half out; then only storm jib

Chop, current                          Moderate chop.  Strong current

Wind                                       13-15

Time                                       .75hours

 

 

Leave a Reply

